European Golden Shoe 2021/22 standings Otesanya David March 26, 2022

European Golden Shoe 2021/22 standings

European Golden Shoe 2021/22 standings


The 2021/22 European Golden Shoe race is under way, with the continent’s most prolific goalscorers all vying to win one of football’s most prestigious individual awards.

Bayern striker Robert Lewandowski saw off the challenge of Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo to finish at the top of the European Golden Shoe rankings last season.

READ MORE: Premier League Golden Boot: Current standings and past winners

Lewandowski scored an astonishing 41 league goals from 29 appearances, giving him 82 Golden Shoe points and the highest winning score since Ronaldo in 2014/15.

Manchester United star Ronaldo and Messi – who has moved from Barcelona to PSG – both entered the new campaign expecting to challenge again in the standings for the most goals in Europe.

READ MORE: Who will be the European Assists King for 2021/22?

Messi’s PSG team-mate Kylian Mbappe and a fellow young star in Erling Haaland were also expected to be in the mix to top the Golden Shoe rankings and take the crown from Lewandowski.

Along with Ronaldo, Romelu Lukaku, Harry Kane and Mohamed Salah started the season as the top Premier League candidates, though surprise winners have also emerged in the past.

Keep an eye on this page throughout the 2021/22 season for regular updates on the European Golden Shoe standings.


Robert Lewandowski boosted his case to win another European Golden Shoe title with a double against Union Berlin on Saturday.

The Bayern striker scored twice, one of which came from the penalty spot, in a 4-0 home win.

Lewandowski tops the European golden boot standings with an astonishing 31 goals in 27 Bundesliga games.

He has scored three times in his last two outings after ending a rare two-game stint without a goal.

Poland forward Lewandowski has improved his Golden Shoe points total to 62, the highest figure in all of Europe’s five major leagues.

Consistently productive for Bayern, Lewandowski has now topped the 30-goal mark in league football for three straight seasons and on five occasions overall for the club.

Real Madrid star Karim Benzema had cut Lewandowski’s lead last week when he netted twice at Real Mallorca.

That moved him on to 22 goals in the Primera Division – the best record in Spain – and to within seven of Lewandowski at the summit.

But he did not play in El Clasico against Barcelona on Sunday as Madrid slumped to a 4-0 defeat at the hands of their fierce rivals.

That means Lewandowski now enjoys a nine-goal advantage over Benzema.

Dusan Vlahovic and Juventus took on Salernitana on Sunday, with the former Fiorentina striker netting once in a 2-0 win to improve his goal tally for the season to 21.

That put him level with former Golden Shoe winner Ciro Immobile, who did not strike in a 3-0 defeat for Lazio against Roma in the Rome derby.

Vlahovic and Immobile are tied at the top of the Serie A scoring charts.

Patrik Schick has not played for a month and Mohamed Salah – the Premier League top scorer – did not add to his tally in a substitute appearance at Arsenal, meaning both players remain on 20 goals.

Wissam Ben Yedder is up to seventh place after netting a double as Monaco dispatched PSG 3-0 in Ligue 1.

Indeed, despite the likes of Kylian Mbappe, Lionel Messi and Neymar being on the books of PSG in France’s top-flight, it is Ben Yedder (17) who tops the goalscoring charts, with Martin Terrier of Rennes in second, just one strike behind him.

For the time being our table below tracking the European Golden Shoe standings will only list players from the top five European leagues, where the winner is most likely to emerge from.

2021/22 European Golden Shoe

Who are the previous European Golden Shoe winners?

Lionel Messi has won the most European Golden Shoe titles.

The PSG forward has triumphed on six occasions, most recently in 2018/19 for Barcelona.

Cristiano Ronaldo is his closest challenger with four career wins, though the Man Utd attacker has not come out on top since 2014/15 when he was at Real Madrid.

Nine players have two awards apiece, including Luis Suarez and Thierry Henry.

Messi holds the record for most goals and points in a season as well. He remarkably scored 50 goals in 2011/12, earning himself 100 points.

Ronaldo has come closest to breaking that, scoring 48 goals for 96 points when he last won the crown more than six years ago.

Argentina forward Messi is the only player in European Golden Shoe history to win the title three years in a row, doing so from 2016/17 until 2018/19.

Ronaldo, though, is one of only four players to have won the title with different clubs. The others are Luis Suarez, Diego Forlan and Mario Jardel.

Robert Lewandowski became the first Bundesliga winner since 1972 last season, with his 41 goals being the best tally for six seasons.

That came after Ciro Immobile won the 2019/20 European Golden Shoe, scoring 36 goals for Lazio in a tremendous Serie A season.

It was his first title, with the striker becoming the first Serie A player to have the most goals in Europe since Francesco Totti triumphed for Lazio‘s rivals Roma in 2006/07.

Ligue 1 has not produced a winner since Josip Skoblar in 1971, a statistic the likes of Messi and Mbappe are hoping to change soon.

What are the European Golden Shoe rules and weightings?

Only league goals are eligible for the European Golden Shoe, with each strike earning points in a weighted system depending on the quality of league.

The five elite leagues – Premier League, La Liga, Bundesliga, Serie A and Ligue 1 – all carry a weighting of 2, meaning that a player will be awarded two points for every goal they score in these competitions.

For the leagues ranked sixth to 21 in Uefa’s coefficients rankings – which includes the top-flights in Portugal, Netherlands and Russia – goals scored are given a weighting of 1.5, and goals scored in a league outwith the top 21 are given a weighting of 1.

That was not always the case in the European Golden Shoe. From 1968 until 1991, the award simply went to the highest goalscorer on the continent, regardless of the strength of league.

Awards were not initially handed out between 1991 until 1996, when the new system came into force. Since then, only two players playing outside what were the five highest-ranked leagues at the time have ever won the Golden Shoe – Henrik Larsson (2000/01) and Mario Jardel (2001/02).

The Golden Shoe has been tied in the past, most recently when Suarez and Ronaldo shared the honour in 2013/14. Going forward, though, the award will be given to the player who has played the fewest minutes if two of them end up on the same number of points.

This page covers the 2021/22 European Golden Shoe race.

Last season’s standings can be found here and if you want to see the final results for the 2019/20 European Golden Shoe, follow this link.


Source link

Write a comment